Drop down, ye heavens

Programme Note

Drop down, ye heavens is a three-movement piece for solo harp designed for use at Advent and Christmas. The melodic material of all three movements is based on the Advent Prose found in The New English Hymnal. The title of the piece is taken from the opening of the refrain of the Advent Prose, and the three movement titles correspond to the opening lines of three of the four verses. ‘Be ye not wroth very sore’ is delicate and gentle, and is followed by the much more vigorous ‘We have sinned’. ‘Comfort Ye’ provides an energetic conclusion to the set.

Year: 2023
Duration: 8′
Instrumentation: Harp

1: Be not wroth very sore
2: We have sinned
3: Comfort ye