Programme Note

‘The world premiere of Edward Nesbit’s Kojata suited the accomplished Guildhall Symphony Orchestra down to the ground. The piece itself…is an explosion of spiky fanfares and compacted shreds of melody force-fed into a shredder-like rhythm machine, with a brief moment of repose before the frenetic energy starts chasing its tail again. Under the similarly barbed, incisive conducting of Ben Gernon, the piece rejoiced in its whirling, shape-shifting identity, teasing the listener with glimpses of patterns before, magpie-like, skidding off in pursuit of other bright, restless ideas. Kojata is all about note-spinning, but note-spinning on a virtuoso scale, which showed off the Guildhall Symphony Orchestra’s brilliant, secure playing. Its gaudy exuberance was very infectious, and it felt like a high-speed collision between Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, Ravel’s Boléro and Varèse’s Amériques. Let’s hope the precocious, 23-year-old Nesbit can keep it up. (Peter Reed, The Classical Source, 3rd November 2009)

Year: 2008
Duration: 8′
Instrumentation: Orchestra (3(III=picc).3.3.Ebcl(=bcl).3(III=cbsn) – – timp – perc(3): I: vib/tam-t/cl.cymb/whip/3 timb II: glsp/susp.cymb/large chime tuned to E3 III: t.bells/mar/B.D./tri – hp – strings)


3rd November 2009
Guildhall Symphony Orchestra, Ben Gernon (Conductor)
Barbican Hall