Programme Note

Noah is a setting of every word of chapters 6-8 of the Book of Genesis for mezzo-soprano and piano. It follows my pieces Jonah and Daniel in its setting of a famous animal story from the Bible. The three pieces together form a cycle, entitled Cautionary Tales from the Scriptures.

Part I describes the wickedness of man, and recounts God’s decision to make the flood. In Part II, Noah, his family, and a small selection of animals are safe on the ark, while the rest of human and animal life dies in the flood. Finally, in Part III, the flood abates, Noah and his companions emerge from the ark, and God promises that he will never again cause such destruction.

Year: 2024
Duration: 27′
Instrumentation: Mezzo-Soprano, Piano

Part I
And it came to pass, when men began to multiply
2. My spirit shall not always strive with man
3. There were giants in the earth in those days
4. And God saw that the wickedness of man was great
5. But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord
6. The end of all flesh is come before me
Part II
And the Lord said unto Noah
2. And Noah went in
3. In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life
4. In the selfsame day entered Noah
5. And the flood was forty days upon the earth
6. And all flesh dies that moved upon the earth
Part III
And God remembered Noah
2. And the ark rested in the seventh month
3. And it came to pass at the end of forty days
4. And he stayed yet another seven days
5. And it came to pass in the six hundredth and first year
6. And Noah went forth