Violin Concerto

Programme Note

My Concerto consists of two movements which explore different aspects of the concerto form. The first movement is a fast scherzando, in which the relationship between violin and ensemble takes its lead primarily from nineteenth-century models. The soloist plays almost continuously, and at any given point performs one of two roles: playing the melody, and playing virtuosic decoration as an accompaniment to melodic material in the ensemble.

In the second movement, the relationship between violin and ensemble is conceived very differently, and the violin plays music that remains distinct from the ensemble, sometimes in direct opposition to it. As the movement goes on the violin becomes progressively more integrated into the musical discourse of the other instruments, and is eventually assimilated completely, before violin and ensemble again go their separate ways and the movement ends in the disunity with which it began.

‘Edward Nesbit’s short, two movement violin concerto is scored for soloist and single flute, clarinet, harp, horn, trombone, cello and bass. In the first movement the violin plays a constructive role that alternates between melody and virtuosic decoration but in the second movement the violin goes its own way to a greater extent and Tim Summers played it all with energy and conviction. There were interesting contributions from the ensemble and the young composer’s sure touch was rewarded with warm applause.’ (Gareth Jones, Ipswich Star/East Anglian Daily Times, 23rd June 2015)

Year: 2011
Duration: 9′
Instrumentation: Violin, Ensemble (fl(=picc).cl – hn.trbn – hp – vc.db)
Commission: Commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society for the Philharmonia Orchestra Young Composers’ Academy.



23rd November 2019
Eugenie Dalgleish (Violin), Rita Fernandes (Conductor), KCL Modern Music Society
The Chapel, King’s College London

1st July 2015
Tim Summers (Violin), Geoffrey Paterson (Conductor), Mahler Chamber Orchestra Soloists
Lunchtime Concert, BBC Radio 3

16th June 2015
Tim Summers (Violin), Geoffrey Paterson (Conductor), Mahler Chamber Orchestra Soloists
Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Aldeburgh Festival

20th August 2012
Clara Kim (Violin), Lorraine Vaillancourt (Conductor), Nouvel Ensemble Moderne
Salle Françoys-Bernier, Quebec

9th June 2011
Maya Iwabuchi (Violin), Clark Rundell (Conductor), Philharmonia Orchestra
Royal Festival Hall